News

Brunel Centre announces a host of activities for the Christmas season!

17/11/2016

The Brunel Shopping Centre, in Swindon Town Centre, have announced their 2016 Christmas calendar. 

The festive season gets underway this coming weekend

Enchanted Christmas Lights BIG Switch-on Weekend
Saturday 19 & Sunday 20 November 2016

The big lights switch-on takes place under the big screen in Wharf Green on Saturday night at 6pm with Coronation Street star Ryan Thomas on the plunger. There will be fun for everyone throughout the day in The Brunel from 11am.


Boogie Storm


The Brunel have sponsored Simon Cowell’s Boogie Storm who will appear on the main stage live from noon on Sunday 20
November, followed by signings and selfies at Skywalkers in Canal Walk (Opposite McDonalds).



Santa's Grotto
Until 24 December


For the younger children the Santa’s Grotto is now open.  Children can meet Santa and his Elves and receive a free present and grown-ups will have the opportunity to purchase a photo.  The grotto is located on the upper level of The Brunel Plaza between M&S and Boots.


(Santa's grotto, as pictured in 2015)

The grotto is always very popular and the queue can get very long at peak times. To avoid the queues book a specific visit time by visiting www.bookfatherchristmas.co.uk/brunel.

Saturday 19 November:  Noon   – 17:30
Sunday 20 November: 10:30   – 16:30 
Saturday 26 November: 11:00  – 18:00 
Sunday 27 November: 10:30   – 16:30 
Thursday 1 December:  Noon   – 17:30 
Friday 2 December:  Noon   – 17:30  
Saturday 3 December: 11:00   – 18:00 
Sunday 4 December: 10:30   – 16:30  
Thursday 8 December:  Noon   – 17:30 
Friday 9 December:  Noon   – 17:30 
Saturday 10 December: 10:00   – 18:00 
 Sunday 11 December: 10:30   – 16:30 
Monday  Noon December: 11:00   – 18:30 
Tuesday 13 December: 11:00   – 18:30 
Wednesday 14 December: 11:00   – 18:30 
Thursday 15 December: 11:00   – 19:00 
Friday 16 December: 11:00   – 18:30 
Saturday 17 December: 10:00   – 18:00 
Sunday 18 December: 10:30   – 16:30 
Monday 19 December: 10:00   – 18:30 
Tuesday 20 December: 10:00   – 18:30 
Wednesday 21 December: 10:00   – 18:30 
Thursday 22 December: 10:00   – 18:30 
Friday 23 December: 10:00   – 18:30 
Saturday 24 December: 09:30   – 15:00 

Bjorn The Bear & Face Painting
11 December


On Sunday 11 December Bjorn, a life-sized polar bear, will be visiting the centre.  Bjorn moves, blinks and makes polar bear noises.  Visitors can have their pictures taken with the friendly bear, have their faces painted and learn about polar bears and their Arctic habitat.

Bjorn will be located in The Brunel Arcade, adjacent to Sue Ryder shop on the ground floor.
Times: Noon, 1:30 and 2:30pm.  This attraction is FREE to visit.



Gift wrapping service
From 03 December


The popular charity gift-wrap service will return to the centre again this year.  Raising money for Prospect Hospice shoppers can take their presents to the gift-wrapping stall and have them wrapped by Prospect’s volunteers, in return for a donation to the charity.  The stall will be opening at various times from Saturday 3
December, see
www.thebrunel.co.uk for full opening times. 

NEW Bonkers Play

Bonkers Play Area is now open on the first floor of Brunel Arcade.  Grown-ups can enjoy a rest and refreshments whilst the children let off steam in the new custom-built play area.  To find out more about opening times and prices see www.bonkersplay.co.uk or visit them on Facebook, Bonkers Play Area.

NEW PLACES TO SHOPS

The centre has also recently welcomed some new shops just in time for Christmas. 

Popular Hawkins Bazaar is back and is a good place to shop for toys and unusual gifts for children and big kids alike. They are located downstairs in The Plaza between Card Factory and Card Market. 


Calendar Club are once again at the centre and are located in The Plaza by The Perfume Shop. 

Menkind are now open in Regent Street and the most recent shop to open is Bristle And Blade who stock high quality men’s grooming products.  Bristle And Blade are located near to men’s clothing retailer The Forum on the first floor of The Brunel Plaza. 



Plus, The Amazing Chocolate Workshop arrives in The Brunel on Monday 21 November and will be selling novelty life-like chocolate tools.


For more information about activities and shops at The Brunel Centre, see www.thebrunel.co.uk or www.facebook/thebrunelswindon